People in Business





Bell to retire as mortgage loan manager at Bank of Idaho

Larry Bell is retiring after 16 years at Bank of Idaho as the mortgage division manager.

Bell has been in the mortgage business for more than 40 years, starting his career at First Security Bank, a Bank of Idaho news release said. During his time at Bank of Idaho, Bell managed loan production, oversaw regulatory compliance, managed secondary marketing functions for southern Idaho, and recruited, trained, and managed a mortgage orientation staff of 24 throughout Pocatello, Idaho Falls and Twin Falls.

In addition to leading Bank of Idaho’s mortgage department, Bell was actively involved in many mortgage organizations in capacities such as a board member of Lenders One Mortgage Cooperative for more than 10 years, and a member of the board for the Community Mortgage Lenders of America since 2011, the release said.

Cory Holloway has been appointed to succeed Bell as the interim mortgage division manager. Holloway has been working as a mortgage manager in the Twin Falls branch and he will continue in that location with his new position.

ISU honors 11 alumni with 2018 Professional Achievement Awards

Eleven Idaho State University alumni will be honored May 5 with ISU 2018 Professional Achievement Awards at the university’s commencement exercises in Holt Arena.

Casey Dye, of Rexburg, is among those being recognized.

Professional Achievement Award recipients are alumni “who have made important contributions to their careers or profession, to the social, political or economic well-being of the world around them and have shown continued community and civic involvement in addition to their association with and contributions to ISU,” an ISU news release said. Honorees have been out of school at least 10 years and have excelled in their chosen field, attaining significant success and accomplishments, the release said.

Professional Achievement Award recipients for 2018 are: William Olson, Boise, College of Arts and Letters ­– Fine Arts and Humanities; Janice Jean, Pocatello, College of Arts and Letters – Social and Behavioral Sciences; Patrick Woodward, Columbus, Ohio, College of Science and Engineering – Natural and Physical Sciences; Jeff Andrews, Inkom, College of Science and Engineering – Engineering; Kevin Miller, Pocatello, College of Technology; Edward Snell, Pocatello, College of Pharmacy; Ron Watters, Pocatello, College of Education; Michael McGrane, Eagle, School of Nursing; Casey Dye, Rexburg, Kasiska Division of Health Sciences; Brent Phillips, Rapid City, S.D., College of Business; and David Gates, Pocatello, Graduate School.

Dye earned his bachelor of science degree in radiographic science in 2004 and has a Master of Health Administration degree from Weber State University in 2016 and an associate degree in health science from Brigham Young University-Idaho in 2002.

He is the director of Diagnostic Services (Imaging and Laboratory) at Madison Memorial Hospital.

Dye has been “an advocate and leader in the field for reducing pediatric radiation doses during imaging examinations, he serves on many committees and is involved in numerous charity fundraising events, according to his nominators for this award,” the release said.

Dye also is involved in raising money as an ISU alumnus for the Radiographic Science Endowment Fund to assist with scholarships for future Radiographic Science Students and is helping organize and facilitate the program’s 30-year celebration to commemorate the first cohort graduating in 1978.

Russell joins Adams Publishing Group

Veteran journalist Betsy Russell is the new Boise bureau chief and state capital reporter for the Idaho Press-Tribune and Adams Publishing Group.

Russell comes to the Idaho Press-Tribune from the Spokesman-Review of Spokane, Wash., where she was most recently the Boise bureau chief and author of the popular “Eye on Boise” blog.

Russell will continue to cover the Idaho Statehouse and Idaho politics for the Idaho Press-Tribune as well as all of the Idaho newspapers under the ownership of the Adams Publishing Group, including the Idaho State Journal and the Idaho Falls Post Register. Post Register political reporter Bryan Clark also will continue to cover eastern Idaho’s interests in the Legislature.

Russell has been with the Spokesman-Review since 1991 and has been Boise bureau chief since 1995. Prior to that, she had been with the Idaho Statesman for five years as an assistant city editor, reporter and columnist.

She earned her bachelor’s degree in political science from the University of California-Berkeley and her master’s degree from Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

Over her career, she has received numerous awards, including being a part of the Spokesman-Review team that was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in spot news in 1993 for the coverage of the Ruby Ridge standoff.

Russell has been the president of the Idaho Press Club since 1997, president and co-founder of Idahoans for Openness in Government since 2004 and president of the Idaho Capitol Correspondents Association since 2008.

Her first day at the Idaho Press-Tribune will be May 7.