Six local seniors receive academic honor

Six area high school seniors are among more than 4,500 nationwide candidates in the 2018 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The local candidates are:


n Sarah Traynor, Idaho Falls High School

n Ellie C. Dunn, Driggs, Jackson Hole Community School

n Ericksen M. Harms, Skyline High School

n Lukas E. Herrmann, Skyline High School

n Timothy M. Jack, Madison Senior High School

n Araoluwa P. Omotowa, Hillcrest High School

The candidates were chosen from 3.6 million students expected to graduate from U.S. high schools this year, a program news release said.

“Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program … is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors,” the release said.

Scholars are selected on the basis of “superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in community and school activities,” the release said.

A panel of educators will narrow the candidates to 600 semifinalists in April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a 32-person panel appointed by the president, will select the finalists and the U.S. Department of Education will announce the scholars in May.