Update: Raybould wins 34B House seat


Britt Raybould will succeed her grandfather in the Idaho Legislature.

According to unofficial results from all precincts, Raybould got 2,562 votes in the Republican primary for the District 34B House seat. Elaine King got 2,330, and Marshall Merrell got 904.

The district includes Madison County and north-central Bonneville County. No other candidates filed to run for the seat, meaning the GOP primary victor will, barring some unforeseen event, be the next House member. King carried the portion of the district in Bonneville County but Raybould beat her in Madison County.

Raybould will succeed Dell Raybould, a farmer from Rexburg who had been in the Legislature since 2000 and decided not to run for another term this term. He was chairman of the Resources and Conservation Committee.

Reporter Nathan Brown can be reached at 208-542-6757. Follow him on Twitter: @NateBrownNews.