Gardner, Ricks, Hansen enshrined in NWHOF

Some local wrestling legends were recently enshrined to the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Dale Gardner and Brian Ricks were awarded Lifetime Service to Wrestling awards Saturday during a ceremony in Idaho Falls. Rexburg’s Brad Hansen and Pocatello’s Todd Praska were also recipents of the award.

“These honorees are being recognized for their inspirational leadership, example, and dedication to the oldest and greatest sport, wrestling,” a press release by the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, Idaho Chapter, says.

Blackfoot’s Lana Hunt-Waddoups was awarded the Trisha Sanders High School Excellence Award Saturday for “excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship and community service.”

Hunt-Waddoups is the only female wrestler to ever compete four years for the Broncos, according to the Idaho State Journal. Hunt finished her prep career with two third-place finishes and one second-place mark at the 4A District 5-6 meets, the Journal reported. She will continue her wrestling career at the University of Providence.

Other local wrestlers represented by the 2018 Idaho Hall of Fame Classic included Kolton Stacey (Shelley), Darrick Stacey (Shelley), Destin Summers (Snake River), Brigid Shannon (Idaho Falls), Derek Ramos (Hillcrest), Caleb Call (Shelley), Braxton Balmforth (Shelley), Austin Ford (Bonneville), Sullivan Andrus (Bonneville), Nathan Sargent (Blackfoot) and Chad LaRose (Teton).

More information regarding the event can be found at